Alumni at SUNY Fredonia

Small width layoutMedium width layoutMaximum width layoutMaximum textMedium textSmall text

Current Articles | Categories | Search | Syndication

Three Faculty and Staff Receive Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

 Chancellor's Awards 2009
McGraw, Jabot, and Tillery

Summer 2009--Three members of the SUNY Fredonia campus community have been honored with the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence. Announced by SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher, the awards are statewide honors conferred to acknowledge and provide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and to encourage the ongoing pursuit of excellence within the SUNY system.

Dr. Michael Jabot of the College of Education is a recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities. A member of the faculty since 2001, his teaching interests are in science education and, in particular, how his students make sense of the physical world around them. Dr. Jabot’s current research focuses on the development of conceptual diagnostic assessments that allow for the development of student mental models in physics. He was recently invited to join the faculty of the National Science Resource Center’s National Leadership and Assistance for Science Education Reform Science Education Strategic Planning Institute in Washington, D.C.

Timothy McGraw is Fredonia’s first recipient in a new category, the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service. A member of the Fredonia staff since 1992, Mr. McGraw began as a cleaner, moving on to service as a temporary laborer in the trades area. In 1997, Mr. McGraw was appointed a Maintenance Helper in the structural area. He later was appointed a Maintenance Assistant and, in 2004, was named a journey level General Mechanic. In 2006 he received the SUNY Fredonia Administrative Services Outstanding Service Award in the Professional Trades category. Mr. McGraw is past president of the Fredonia Chapter of the Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA).

Dr. Kim Tillery, Chairperson of the Department of Communication Disorders and Sciences was named a recipient of the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. Dr. Tillery, chair of the department since 2004, has been a member of the SUNY Fredonia faculty since 1997. In 2008, she was honored by her alma mater, Illinois State University, with its Distinguished Alumna Award. Dr. Tillery’s research and clinical expertise involves the relationship of auditory processing disorders (APDs), learning and attention deficits; specific therapy aspects of APD and Ritalin’s effect on APD. One of her recent publications includes a chapter in the “Handbook of Clinical Audiology,” Sixth Edition.
Awardees receive a certificate and medallion in commemoration of their selection.

posted @ Wednesday, August 19, 2009 1:55 PM by Christine Davis Mantai

Previous Page | Next Page



Privacy Statement | Terms Of UseCopyright 2007-2018, State University of New York at Fredonia